Learn The Unique History of Boo Cat Club

By ALIVE Staff
In Culture

Sponsored Content: What’s This?

Throughout history, Boo Cat Club has played the role of unforgettable venue, but it has even deeper ties to the general St. Louis community. The stunning building’s original architect, Louis C. Spiering, was famous for contributing designs for the 1904 World’s Fair as well as The Sheldon Memorial Building. Inside Boo Cat’s wall, the legendary Tennessee Williams graced the stage. It even draws its name from St. Louis civic leader and philanthropist Desmond “Des” Lee, who was known to say, “You don’t know jack from boo cat chicken,” according to Boo Cat Club’s owners.

 20160123_Almanac_BooCatClub_1051

The building, which was originally erected to be a space for appreciating and supporting the arts is now a home for the appreciation and support of the fine art of celebration. At this address, Pat and Carol Schuchard have welcomed new plays, after-parties (including the closing to the first ever Tennessee Williams Festival St. Louis), conferences and art openings.

In each unique space, from the catacombs—which features a brand-new bar handcrafted by Pat—to the Burns Balcony, or spanning all three levels, Boo Cat can offer a distinct experience that secures each event a place in history.

Recommended Posts